RSS

Judith’s disclaimer

24 Jun

Sometimes it is much easier to say who I am not as opposed to who I am.

That’s the way I chose my wedding gown, in fact. I told the assistant “I don’t want long sleeves or puffed sleeves or a poofy skirt or lots of bows or pearls or sequins. However, I don’t know what I DO want, so what do you suggest?” She actually took that information and found the perfect dress for me.

Therefore, before we become any more intimate, I need to tell you who I am not.

– – I am not an artist, an Art History major, an Art major, or a History major.

– – I am not a Biblical or political scholar.

– – I am not a professional writer.

– – i am not a good proofreader. At. All.

– – I am not a librarian or journalist – although i do try to substantiate my sources.

– – I am not a Psychiatrist or Clinical Psychologist.

– – I am not Jewish (not that there is anything wrong with that).

– – I am not fluent in Latin or French or Italian (not that there is anything wrong with that).

– – I am not under 16 and not over 60 – but closer to the latter than the former.

– – I am not a sadist or a man-hater or philogynist.

– – I am not a prude.  Or a pervert.  At least in my own mind.

That seems to cover all the misconceptions I can imagine at this point.  This disclaimer is another way of saying:

– – Don’t quote me
– – Don’t expect my dates and locations to be 100% accurate (although you can correct me if you know the accurate answer)
– – Don’t get wiggy if i mis-spell something unless it’s really really really important or makes me look totally ignorant (i’m okay with somewhat ignorant)
– – Don’t expect this blog to be either totally scholarly or totally free of explicit, bawdy language.

There is probably some other stuff you shouldn’t expect, but the wine is taking effect and we’ll figure it out as we go along.  So thank you for letting me couvre mon cul.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

ALSO, I do know that Judith is not a history of authentic events.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

If you DO crave a more scholarly approach to Judith, Ix  will direct you to The Judith Project: Expanding the Boundaries of Disciplinarity Through Collaborative Scholarly Practice (http://workshops.nypl.org/judith/) and other pages as they become pertinent  – and as I read and understand them.

Also a tip of the hat to Martin Van Delden (who i do not know, yet) who has an exhaustive compilation of the Art of Judith on Picasa.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 24, 2011 in Mooring

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
