RSS

Judith is directionally challenged

20 Sep

Judith:   Shhhhst!  I heard a noise to the right.
Maid:     Right?  Your right or my right?
Judith:   Aren’t they the same?
Maid:     Oh … if I’m sitting by you, yes.  But I heard something over here.
Judith:   Over here where?
Maid:     Behind my back.
Judith:   Behind MY back?
Maid:     No, to your left.
Judith:   But I thought we had the same right?
Maid:     We did, until I turned around.
Judith:   So now it’s on my left?
Maid:     Right.
Judith:   Which one? Left or right?
Maid:      Left …. never mind. they left.
Judith:    (sigh) I hope you’re right.

Orazio Gentileshi, “Judith and Her Maidservant with the Head of Holofernes,” 1621-162, Oil on canvas, 127 x 147 cm, Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, Hartford, Connecticut, USA

I am sure there is some important artistic commentary I am supposed to make here but, dang it, being a smart ass is so much more fun.

Let’s just say Orazio appears to be trying to one-up his daughter with a new composition with more elaborate clothing.  I can’t wait to see what she does next.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 20, 2011 in Cacciatore

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
