RSS

Now for something completely different (XII)

06 Oct

We forget the Good Old Days weren’t always so good.

A Date With Judy (1949, vol. 12)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

This song by The Pipettes is kind of … sad.

I knew a girl and her name was Judy / She used to do things I thought were rude
But I never said anything to her face /’ Cuz my friends I thought she’d kick my arse all over the place
Used to think she was kinda cool / I saw her walking all around the school
All the older boys would stop and turn their heads / All the older girls wished that she was dead

Judy, whatcha gonna do? / When you’re older and no one wants to know ya?
I will look out for you / If you will look out for me
I know I’m not as hard as you / But I think I can see right through you

Now me and Judy we’re the best of pals / She took me dancing to the early hours
And showed me things I’ve never seen / Mum always asked me where I’d been
when I’m with

Judy, whatcha gonna do? / When you’re older and no one wants to know ya?
I will look out for you / If you will look out for me
I know I’m not as hard as you / But I think I can see right through you

When you go home at night / Are you still looking for a fight?
You know your mum is not that mean / But still you want to rip out her spleen.

Judy, whatcha gonna do? / When you’re older and no one wants to know ya?
I will look out for you / If you will look out for me
I know I’m not as hard as you / But I think I can see right through you

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
