RSS

Judith goes exploring (i)

17 Oct

Travel plans for me to go exploring, not the Biblical Judith.

All this talk about getting away has made me think about traveling.  Actually getting this computer off my lap, getting off my arse and getting to the places I can see these works of art with my own eyes.

So I am adding a new feature to my blog:  Exploring.  Where I figure out how to start from Cincinnati, Ohio – the Middle of the Middle – and radiate out to the world of Judith.

Starting with a car.   Which means starting in North America.   Which means I have about 46 options in the US and 1 in Canada. (really? that’s all they have in 3,854,085 square miles of Canada?)

Day 1:  For the Grand Loop of the Mid-west, I will need to pack a bag and buy some gas.   The first stop is a mere 38 miles from where I sit, less than 1 hour of travel  – at the Dayton Art Institute, Dayton, Ohio.  There I can find the cassone and a Saraceni.

Mon & Tues – Closed;  Wed, Fri, Sat – 10am to 5pm;  Thurs – 10am to 8pm;  Sun – Noon to 5pm
Day 2:  It’s an easy 211 miles, or 3.5 hours, to Detroit Institute of Arts, Detroit, Michigan.
Oooh they have Degas (nine!), Van Gogh (five!), Monet, Matisse and Diego Rivera murals.  As well as Judith by Titian and Artemesia Gentileschi.

Mon & Tues – Closed;  Wed & Thurs – 10am to 4pm;  Fri – 10am to 10pm;  Sun – 10am to 5pm

Day 3:  A 43 mile, 45 minute hop to The University of Michigan Art Museum, Ann Arbor, Michigan.  I’ll have to keep this a secret from my my friends from THE Ohio State University while I search for the Traversi.

Mon – Closed;  Tues-Fri – 10am to 7pm;  Sat – 10am to 5pm;  Sun – Noon to 5pm

Day 4:  Crossing Southern Michigan 285 miles from Ann Arbor, 4.5 hours leads to  Art Institute of Chicago, 
Chicago, Illinois.   H
oly canolli – I can walk where Ferris Beuller walked, stand where Sloan Peterson stood!   Maybe in front of the Ficherelli or the Van Hemessen.

Mon-Wed – 10:30am to 5pm;  Thurs – 10:30am to 8pm;  Fri-Sun – 10:30am to 5pm

Also need to check to see if the Yarych‘s are still at the Ukrainian Institute of Modern Art.

Mon and Tues – closed;   Wed – Sun – 12pm to 4pm

Day 5:  Leaving lovely Chicago and winding through the corn fields of Northern Illinois for just 167 miles, 2 hours 45 minutes, is Lakeview Museum of Arts & SciencesPeoria, Illinois.   I love a Sirani – and a fresh painting that brings the garden inside.   Without the bugs.

Mon – Closed;  Tues, Weds, Fri, Sat – 10am to 5pm;  Thurs – 10am to 8pm;  Sun – Noon to 5pm

Day 6:  Heading south 169 miles from Peoria, 2 hours and 45 minutes, on the banks of the Mighty Mississippi River is St. Louis Art MuseumSt. Louis, Missouri.  Jack pot!  two Giordano‘s and a Vasari.

Mon – Closed;  Tues-Sun – 10am to 5pm;  Fri – 10am to 9pm;  

Also need to check Compônere Gallery in University City to look for David Andrew Midkiff’s ceramic head of Holofernes.

Mon – Thurs: 11am to 5pm;   Fri -Sat: 11am to 9am;   Sun:  1pm to 5pm

Day 7:  Crossing east on I70 into Indiana brings me to Terra Haute – 168 miles, 3 hours from St. Louis.  The destination is Church of the Immaculate Conception in Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College the view the stained glass windows that reflect Allori’s Judith.   tours on request.

Another hour and a half (58 miles) to Indiana University Art Museum, Bloomington, Indiana.   Could it be?  di Giovanni AND Grammatica in one place?

Mon – Closed;  Tues-Sat – 10am to 5pm;  Sun – Noon to 5pm

Day 8:  Which returns me to Cincinnati – a city without a Biblical Judith.   they will have to settle for me.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

an update with Egg On My Face:  Cincinnati does have a Judith.  more than one.  but i’m leaving you in suspense until the right moment …

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 17, 2011 in Exploring

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
