RSS

Judith goes exploring (iii)

09 Nov

Let’s leave town again.  Heading south.

Day 20:  Starting with a plane ticket to Greenville, SC and Bob Jones University Museum and Gallery. I will keep my opinions to myself while I get a first-person look at Judith to figure out:  is the artist Flaminio Torre or Lorenzo Pasinelli?  But first I have to figure out which of two Bob Jones museums displays the painting:  the museum at the university the gallery at Heritage Green?

University campus M&G:   Mon:  closed;   Tues – Sun:   2pm to 5pm
Heritage Green M&G:  Mon:  closed;  Tues – Sat: 10am to 5pm;  Sun:  2pm to 5pm

Day 21:  Takes another plane ticket to Birmingham, AL and the Birmingham Museum of Art.  My goal: a portrait of Judith by Guido Reni.  But i will also have to spend a few minutes with one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of Southern quilts in the country.

Mon – closed;  Tues-Sat: 10 am – 5 pm;   Sunnoon – 5 pm

Day 22:  Another plane ticket to Sarasota, FL – where I can rent a car to take me to the John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art.   Two amazing portraits of Judith – one by Francesco del Cairo and one by Fede Galicia.   This museum requires more time since it also houses several Rubens and Cranach the Elder as well as the circus museum and the Ringlings’ home – Ca’ d’Zan (House of John) – a 1926 Venetian Gothic mansion overlooking Sarasota Bay.

Mon – Sun: 10 am – 5 pm

Day 23:  A short drive (177 mi, 3.5 hours) across the state of Florida to West Palm Beach brings me to the Norton Museum of Art.   My goal:  the festive portrait by Guerrieri.  I can also view the glass ceiling installation commissioned from Dale Chihuly, a cantilevered spiral staircase, and three-story atrium.

Mon – closed;  Tues-Wed: 10 am – 5 pm;  Thursday 10 am – 9 pm;  Fri-Sat: 10 am – 5 pm;   Sun11 am – 5 pm

Day 24 and 25:   From south Florida, i leave the car at the airport and head even further south – to Puerto Rico.   After landing in San Juan, I can drive 10.5 miles (a little over an hour) to lovely and historic Ponce on the southern coast of the island.  And the Museo de Arte de Ponce, the largest art museum in the Caribbean.   There is my favorite of all the Judith’s painted by Lucas Cranach the Elder.  I can also visit the main masterpiece of the museum – Flaming June by Frederic Leighton – as well as 4,000 other pieces of art.

Tues – closed;  Wed-Mon: 10:00 am – 6:00 pm

Day 26:  Can anyone sneak me into Cuba and the Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes de La Habana?  The Judith by Juan de Pareja is there and she needs to share the love.    I read that Corcoran Gallery of Art is getting a “people-to-people” license to visit galleries and artists in Cuba – so it could be in my future.

Day 27:  I am in the Caribbean and there is rum … so who cares what day it is.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 9, 2011 in Exploring

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
