RSS

Judith in steampunk

18 Dec

What H.G Well’s Judith might look like –

Alastair Fell, Judith And Holofernes, 2009, http://www.darkrising.co.uk

Something like Edward Scissorhands.

This interpretation of Judith is by Aly Fell, and has introduced me to “steampunk.”    Once again, I refer you to my disclaimer and one of the things I forget to mention:  I am not on the cutting edge of culture (cutting edge of crazy, maybe).     So “steampunk” is news to me.    For other novices such as myself, it is defined as a sub-genre of science fiction, fantasy, alternate history, and speculative fiction that is set at a time when steam power was widely used – usually England in the Victorian era.    The terminology apparently originated with science fiction author K. W. Jeter, who was trying to describe works by Tim Powers, James Blaylock and himself – all placed in the 19th-century and imitating ideas of H. G. Wells.

In this depiction by Aly Fell, Judith appears as a mechanic who has dismantled the head of a robot.    If indeed robots attempt to take over the world as some people fear, then this techno-decapitation makes perfect sense.

But I am still thinking of Edward Scissorhands. Probably because it is on my top five list of favorite movies. And always touches my heart.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 18, 2011 in Cacciatore

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
