RSS

Judith in patchwork

01 Oct

Joshua Burbank, “Judith,” 2009, mixed media, http://www.joshuaburbank.com/mixed-media0.html

My apologies to the artist for reducing his elaborate style to “patchwork,” but … it does remind me of patchwork.   Which is one of my favorite ways to doodle.    The mix of patterns and textures remind me of the quilts of my childhood.   Which were useful things made beautiful — repurposed pieces made into a a warm whole.

Although truthfully, I like the vibrant spring and summer colors of Burbank’s other portraits better than Judith‘s autumn tones …

Joshua Burbank, “Cosmos,” 2009, mixed media, http://www.joshuaburbank.com/mixed-media0.html

Joshua Burbank, “Modernique,” 2009, mixed media, http://www.joshuaburbank.com/mixed-media0.html

Joshua Burbank, “Three Graces,” 2009, mixed media, http://www.joshuaburbank.com/mixed-media0.html

From these, I get a Gyspy-vibe.   A Byzantine-feel.   A Klimt!!  And that is a compliment indeed.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

Post-script:    Joshua Burbank has a brother, Sam Burbank, who edited a film of the progress of Joshua’s art, titled Process.    A 3 minute kaleidoscope of the multiple changes from which the final artwork emerges.   It is definitely worth the watch …

… because of our film experiment, I don’t think I will ever see the final painting clearly, or the way the artist would have me see it. I’ve watched this character be born and change and I know what a beautiful and complex and layered woman she is. Now so do you.

In that way I see the final painting almost as a snapshot in a life, a moment in time, the right day to capture and hold the beauty of a character who would otherwise change day after day, like all of us do. How Josh knows when to stop, I’ll never know.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 1, 2012 in Cacciatore

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
