RSS

Judith in a stew

14 Dec

Andrea Fabrizi Parmigiano, “Judith with the Head of Holofernes,” 16th century, Oil on panel, 34 x 23 cm, Veneranda Biblioteca Ambrosiana, Milan, Italy

The first time I saw this painting, I tossed it n the pot labeled “Less than Masterful Artwork.”   The poses are awkward, the space is cramped, the colors are dull – and Judith is giving the Stink Eye.  In fact, her insolent expression (along with the platter/bowl) is closer to my conception of Salome.

The second time I saw this painting … I thought the same thing.

Although I do like the frame.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 14, 2012 in Borderline Boring

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Judith in a stew

Leave a Reply

 
