RSS

Judith in Shades of Grey

26 Jan

Monrealese (Giovanni Pietro Novelli), “Judith and Holofernes ” Oil on canvas 240 x 163 cm, Reale, Naples, Italy

Bummer.

I tried to find this artwork in something other than a bad black-and-white photo. but this is all I gots.  Until I can hitch-hike my way to Naples to see for myself.

Too bad.  There appears to be an interesting story.  The Maid seems to be the calmest figure in the composition – like she witnesses a decapitation every day (“What’s taking so long? Let’s get this over before dessert arrives.”).  Judith seems to be distracted by those annoying cherubs (“Yes, you little floating bloated babies.  I know what I’m doing!”), and Holofernes … well, he seems to be in a frenzy over losing his head (“If she didn’t like the entree, why didn’t she just say so?”).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2013 in Gory

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
