RSS

Now for something completely different (LXXVII)

08 Mar

“A Date With Judy” (1960, vol.78)

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

From  Merkin Vineyards and Caduceus Cellars:  Nagual del Judith Cabernet Sauvignon 2007

With tears in my eyes, I present to you the very first 100% Arizona Caduceus wine. Nagual del JUDITH, named after my late mother, Judith Marie, whose ashes are spread across this Northern Arizona vineyard. These vines and wines are her resurrection and her wings.

At the age of 30, Judith Marie fell victim to a series of aneurisms that left her unable to walk, write, read, or dress. Her peripheral vision, speech, and motor skills were significantly impaired, so suffice to say her dream of traveling the world was pretty much out of the question. However her memories were completely intact. During moments of clarity and focus she would, with great difficulty, describe a life long recurring dream. “Since I was a child I used to dream that I could fly. I would stand on one leg, look up towards the sky, and with my arms lifted out and up, my fingers stretched towards the sun, the wind would come and swirl all around me. And then gently lift me up into the air. This is how I would travel. This is how I was able to see the whole world.”

 

 
 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
