RSS

Judith in Blue and White

19 Jan

I’ll confess: I am a devotee of blue and white decor.  I can never get enough of Chinese jars and Delft tiles and Spode plates.  The combination is traditional and fresh at the same time.

Unknown

imagesimages-2images-1

So from the moment I first saw this Judith, I was in love with the background.  But I did have to ask myself:  is this Judith lying down with her head in the plate?  or is this Judith standing in front of the plate with an extreme updo?

Judith (2012) Serena Malyon

Serena Malyon, “Judith,” 2012, ink and watercolour, 6.8 x 9 inches, smalyon.wordpress.com/2012/05/30/judith/

 

So I asked the artist. And she was kind enough to reply.

I actually made it pretty much as soon as I had graduated from art school, I was trying to work out what my style would be. I wanted to do a mock-up book cover for my portfolio, and the story of Judith and Holofernes has always interested me. Its just me re-imagining the tale for a modern book publication.

It was fun to work on a personal project, but it’ll be a long time before I attempt to paint another delft plate.

DARN IT.  I forgot to ask if Judith was standing up or lying down.  I think I’ll just go with a condition of weightlessness and call it a day. However …

One of the delightful aspects of this blog has been the opportunity to see how some artists progress.  And from this first attempt at a personal style, Serena Malyon has found herself as an illustrator.  She has completed several covers for Fast Forward Weekly (FFWD) – a news and entertainment publication in Calgary – and most recently was commissioned to provide the cover for Button Hill by Michael Bradford.  Bravo!

Check out her other whimsical projects on Serena’s Illustration Blog.  And not one delft plate in sight!!

 

7556

Cover for “Button Hill” by Michael Bradford

COVER-missing

“The politics of disappearance,” FFWD Dec 4, 2014

 

serenamalyon_ffwd_blog

“The Bike Issue,” FFWD, June 5, 2014

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2015 in Cacciatore

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
