RSS

Judith: les Fenêtres

29 Jun

Throughout this blog, I have commented on various stained glass windows that depict Judith.   But I recently came across a treasure trove of windows in French churches and cathedrals  (Well, one is in Belgium but they speak French, don’t they?).   So here they are en masse.

“Judith,” 16th century, stained glass, Church of St Martin, Triel-sur-Seine, France

I always enjoy seeing Judith on a throne.  Seems so natural and appropriate for a girl like me.

“Judith”, stained glass, Collegiate Church of Notre-Dame, Dinant, Belgium

I love the stars, the rose and the giant cabbage – but someone needs to hand Judith a napkin to wipe her chin.  She looks slightly cannibalistic with that suspicious stain.

“Judith,” stained glass, Our Lady of the Assumption, Bagnères-de-Luchon, France

This pose suggests “Judith the Hitchhiker” – as in “Hey, I just decapitated a guy so get me the hell outa here.”

“Judith,” stained glass, Cathedral of St. Peter and St. Paul de Troyes, Troyes, France

This window I like in particular.   The headgear, the hidden head, the sassy hand-on-hip, the smirky smile.  That’s attitude.   Oh wait … that’s the maid.  At least Judith gets a crown.

Jonathan Manasseh, “Judith,” stained glass, Church of Saint-Germain-l’Auxerrois, Paris, France

And this gets my attention because it shows Judith supported by three men.  Seems about right to me in the hierarchy of things.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 29, 2012 in Glory

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Judith: les Fenêtres

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.